Vegetarian Enchiladas

I tend to make veggie enchiladas at least once a month. Here’s the batch I made this weekend.

Enchilada w/ home-made plantain chips

Enchilada w/ home-made plantain chips

Vegetarian Enchiladas

Ingredients:

  • One package of flour tortillas
  • One bell pepper
  • One onion
  • One jalapeno
  • 8 ounces of mushrooms
  • Dash of cumin and oregano
  • 14 ounces of beans (or 1 can)
  • Handful of frozen corn
  • 1 can vegetarian enchilada sauce
  • 2 cloves of garlic

Method:

Wrap 'em up

Wrap ’em up

 

  • Slice up the pepper, onion, jalapeno, mushroom and garlic. Saute in a pan with a bit of coconut oil.
  • Add the cumin and oregano when almost cooked through, add the corn and beans.
  • Grab a 9×13 inch baking dish and place one tortilla against one edge.
  • Now assemble each enchilada by putting a large spoonful of the filling onto the tortilla and wrap up almost like a burrito. [If they don’t look pretty or wrap up well that’s fine. Also if you end up with too much filling just spoon it on top at the end].
  • Continue with each tortilla until your baking dish is full.
  • Pour your sauce over the top of the tortillas. [You can also make your own sauce but this weekend I was lazy]
  • *Now usually I add shredded cheese on top, but I ate kinda crappy on Sunday so I omitted cheese this time.
  • Bake uncovered at 375° F for about 25 minutes or until cheese is just browning

Like I said I make it different just about every time depending on what veggies I have or am in the mood for. Sometimes I add cheese inside the tortilla, or on top, and sometimes I make my own sauce (tons of recipes online). It’s an easy dish you can add your own spin to.

2 thoughts on “Vegetarian Enchiladas

Leave a Reply

