Wicked Easy Plantain Chips!

I’ll never forget my first time having plantain chips. I was in Colombia to visit my girlfriend who was doing World Teach at the time, and we went to a park in Medellín to have lunch. First we went to a Colombian grocery store and I could have spent days exploring and trying out new foods, but I grabbed some chips, a weird liquid oatmeal thing, and some fresh avocado. I’ve never been much of a potato chip person, but for some reason I absolutely love plantain chips! Anyway I digress…

Starchy Crunchy Goodness

Starchy Crunchy Goodness

One of my favorite online cooking resources besides Foodgawker is Kevin from Fit Men Cook. If you haven’t checked him out, you need to. I found him through a friend and started following him on Instagram. He posts super quick and easy recipes that can usually be made just from looking at his instagram videos/comments. Last week he had a post for homemade plantain chips and I had to try it!

  • I thinly sliced two plantains (Kevin used a mandolin, but I was fine using a sharp knife)
  • Then I tossed them in a bowl with some oil, cumin, salt, and a dash of garlic powder
  • I placed them on a baking sheet with parchment paper and baked them for about 25-30min at 400 degrees (Kevin said 350, but I think my oven is weak so I went hotter)

They turned out awesome and I served them alongside my homemade vegetarian enchiladas.  I will definitely be making these again since plantains are so cheap and it keeps me from eating an entire package of the store bought ones (which I’m sure are not as healthy as making them at home). This may be my new favorite snack, I can picture myself snacking on these during movie nights snuggled up with KB and our pup Greta.

Enchilada w/ home-made plantain chips

Enchilada w/ home-made plantain chips

Leave a Reply

