Maple Water Review

IMG_20140618_162800Did anyone else know that maple water existed, how could this be a real thing and I not know about it!?! As it turns out it is real and it is fabulous (Seinfeld anyone?). I first heard about Maple on twitter and my interest was obviously peaked. As someone who loves all things Vermonty and all things maple I was instantly dying to get my hands on some. This brand of maple water, called Maple, is based out of Concord Mass and I believe the sap comes from Canada (but don’t quote me on that). As it turns out the folks at Maple were nice enough to provide me with a sample for me to fall in love with and review. (please note that even though this sample was complimentary these thoughts/opinions are mine alone and I try to provide an unbiased review)

 

So what is it? Well the closest thing I can compare it to is coconut water, and the idea behind drinking it is similar. It’s a low calorie, low sugar option for hydration; however it also provides 46 nutrients including vitamins, minerals, polyphenols, prebiotics, electrolytes, amino acids, antioxidants, and more manganese than a cup of kale. The 8.45 oz Maple that I tried contained 20 calories, 4g of sugar, and 5g of carbs. Similar size coconut waters usually have around 11g of sugar and 11g of carbs. Where does it come from? It’s just the sap that is tapped during the maple syrup making process. Usually it is boiled down into syrup but before that process it’s a clear sap that is only slightly sweet.

 

What did I think of it? I LOVED it! I had my first one after doing an intense core circuit at my work’s poorly ventilated gym. After sweating profusely for 45 minutes the Maple was the refreshing hydration that my body needed. I liked that it didn’t taste overly sweet or sugary like some sports drinks, and the fact that it contains so many good nutrients in addition to the hydration is a big bonus. I just wished I had a bigger bottle. Kate from Maple actually found the store closest to me that was going to start carrying their product, starting today actually, so I stopped there after work and bought three more bottles. They only had 8.45 oz bottles, but I hope they start carrying larger ones (I don’t know if Maple makes them larger yet though).

 

Smoothie Time

Smoothie Time

When I got home I decided I wanted a post workout smoothie and figured this was a great chance to try the maple in place of where I sometimes use coconut water. I took 1 bottle of maple, 2/3 cup of mixed berries, a handful of spinach, 1/2 cup of plain greek yogurt, and a handful of ice cubes and threw it all in the blender. I then added some fresh mint from our yard and garnished the glass with mint as well.  Processed with VSCOcamThe mint really played well with the subtle sweetness of the Maple water, and made my smoothie even more satisfying. I would definitely recommend this product to a friend. I like that it’s a low calorie option for hydration, but that it also has so many nutrients, minerals, polyphenols and more. Maple says, “Mother Nature is the best chemist” and I couldn’t agree more. I love that their product is simple and natural. I may be even more of a maple addict now that I know it comes in water form.

 

If you want to know more here’s the link for the Maple website, and a link to their online store where they sell Maple water, and apparel. I’m in the market for a new running hat for summer so I’m probably going to buy theirs since I think they have a cool logo, and I like supporting small businesses that make great products.

 

Leave a Reply

