Watermelon Feta Salad with Basil and Balsamic Vinegar

Yesterday I spent the day at the beach playing wiffle ball, throwing the football, and jumping into the freezing North Atlantic water. I had bought some watermelon to bring with me and had a bunch left over so I started looking for food pics on Instagram for inspiration. Sometimes I just like to look at food pics and form my own dish from there. It’s a great place for easy inspiration and I don’t feel pressure to follow any recipe so it’s more fun for me. Here’s the dish I made for lunch today.

Ingredients:

  • Cup of chopped watermelonProcessed with VSCOcam
  • A few ounces of crumbled feta cheese
  • 1 teaspoon of balsamic vinegar
  • A few leaves of fresh basil

Method (super easy):

  • Throw the watermelon in a bowl
  • Sprinkle feta crumbles around the melon
  • Chiffonade the basil, and distribute on top
  • Drizzle the balsamic vinegar across the salad

I wasn’t sure if I would like the combination of flavors but somehow it works perfectly! It was so refreshing and I had two servings after coming in from washing the car this afternoon. I have a feeling I’ll be making this many times this summer.

 

Leave a Reply

