What I’m eating this week 7/7/14

Last summer when I was living in Boston we had no access to a grill at our apartment. So this summer since I do have grill access I am trying to take advantage of grilling as much as possible! The beginning of next this week looks to have good weather so I’m doing two more meals on the grill, and then an easy salad.

 

Grilled Stuffed Peppers

The stuffing for this recipe is actually just the Red Lentil Dahl that I’ve made before. So first I’m going to make up the Dahl and set aside. Then I’m going to brush four bell peppers with a little olive oil and grill each side until they get a nice char. Once they’ve cooled a bit I’m going to stuff them with the Dahl and place back on the grill just for a few minutes until everything melds together nicely.

I also had left over Dahl from the stuffing and decided to use it as dip for some tortilla chips left over from 4th of July…Oh my goodness was it good! I’m thinking of making  a layered dip now with the Dahl some yogurt and maybe a little cheese melted on top, to be continued….

 

Grilled Mushroom Caps with Tomato and Cheese

This meal is super easy (they usually get easier as the week goes on). I was inspired by this recipe; however I am going to do a whole tomato slice because I think it’ll stay together better, and I want to cook it directly on the grill surface. For this one I’m just going to take some portabella mushroom caps which I’ve brushed with a bit of olive oil and grill them until almost done directly on the grill. I’m then going to take a large tomato slice that I’ve dipped in olive oil, black pepper, crushed garlic, and red pepper flakes and put that on top of the mushroom cap. It all gets topped with a little mozzarella cheese and goes back on to the grill until cooked through and the cheese is melted.

 

Simple Kale Spinach Salad

By the end of the week I tend to get lazy so I’m planning on having a salad with lots of spinach and kale, chopped carrots, chopped tomato, and a little homemade lemon olive oil dressing.

 

All of these are pretty simple and should yield leftovers so I’ll get a couple meals out of each option.

 

Leave a Reply

