Favorite Things Part 1: Nuun Hydration Review & Giveaway!

Throughout the last year I’ve learned a lot about running; I’ve also learned even more about running gear, nutrition, and what works for me. I wanted to take the opportunity to share with you the companies that I’ve fallen for. Not only do I love the products that they make, but I’ve often found them a pleasure to interact with online, and love some of the things that they stand for.  This will be a multi-part post so look out for the rest of the posts in the coming weeks! I hope you all enjoy these brands as much as I do!

If you’ve been paying attention to me online it’s no surprise to you that I love Nuun Hydration! I first heard of Nuun from my girlfriend KB because she was bringing them with her to Tanzania. I didn’t really think of them as a hydration source for runners at the time, but once I started running through the summer months I remembered the fizzy little tabs she had shown me. I did a little more research and found out that TONS of other athletes were using Nuun. I figured I would give them a shot and see if they worked for me. I wasn’t disappointed! First off I thought the flavor was great. I bought tubes of strawberry lemonade and the citrus to start. The flavor was subtle without being too overpowering, it made the drink palatable without feeling like you were guzzling down a sickly sweet beverage. I also didn’t get any GI issues from Nuun which was the biggest plus. Sometimes when you’re already feeling overwhelmed my heat/dehydration sports beverages just make my insides squirm a little bit more than usual. There was none of this with Nuun.Nuun Tubes

So what’s in it? You can find more specifics at the Nuun website here, but to sum it up each tab of Nuun active has:

Active Ingredients
Sodium (carbonates)
Potassium (bicarbonate)
Magnesium (sulfate)
Calcium (carbonate)
Vitamin C
Vitamin B2
level (mg)
360.0
100.0
25.0
12.5
37.5
500 mcg

I also found Nuun to be pretty affordable. At my grocery store the tubes are about $5 a peice (12 tabs). I figured compared to the average sports drink that costs anywhere from $1-$1.50 that was a steal when you compare 12 servings at about $0.42 per serving. I also like how portable they are, one tube is all you need for days of hydration and it easily fits in your pocket, jacket, backpack, car, locker, etc. I now have little tubes of Nuun stashed all over the place between my house, the car, and school. Another thing I didn’t think of at first was repurposing the tubes themselves. I’ve now started using them to store headphones, snacks, money/keys, ENERGYbits, and anything else that fits inside.As well as fewer than 1 g of carbs, less than 8 calories, no sugar, no high-fructose corn syrup, and no artificial flavors/colors.  I like that there’s not a lot of extra crap in them, they just give you what you need. There are also other varieties of Nuun to meet other needs. They have a Nuun active with caffeine added; Nuun All Day for when you’re not sweating it out; and Nuun U Natural which is all natural and has a lower electrolyte profile than the Nuun Active. I have tried the Nuun All Day and the Nuun Active and love them both. For my next purchase I plan on grabbing some of the Nuun Active Energy to give me a boost on those early morning workouts.

Great waterproof storage

Great waterproof storage

As you can see I love Nuun for the taste, simple ingredients, affordability, and portability. I have truly become addicted to it and have at least 1 tab of Nuun every day. I love Nuun so much that I even applied to be a Nuunbassador for 2015 and can happily say I was accepted! I plan to spread the #NuunLove as much as I can this year. Nuun was nice enough to supply a sample of two tubes of your choosing to one lucky reader. Simply enter through the Rafflecopter link below! (WordPress won’t let me post a widget)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

16 thoughts on “Favorite Things Part 1: Nuun Hydration Review & Giveaway!

  1. Lisa Jones says:

    Love Nuun! I’m addicted too and use it every day. Haven’t had a flavor I don’t like.I like the Nuun All Day for when I’m not working out.

Leave a Reply

